ADVERTISEMENT

BASEBALL Making sense of Sunny Golloway's lawsuit

Jay G. Tate

IT'S A TRAP!
Staff
Jan 17, 2003
Montgomery, Ala.
1EGrhcO.jpg

OK. So by now you know that Sunny Golloway's alleged/possible lawsuit now is an actual thing -- and a matter of public record. Golloway's attorney, John Saxon of Birmingham, filed the document Tuesday afternoon in U.S. District Court in Opelika.

Defendants include the Auburn Board of Trustees along with athletic director Jay Jacobs, former chief operating officer David Benedict, director of NCAA compliance Rich McGlynn, former director of baseball ops Scott Duval and associate athletic director Jeremy Roberts.

PART I: DISCLAIMERS
I am not a lawyer. I am a sports reporter with a background in psychology. I also spent long portions of two summers as a teenager at a place called Chandler Baseball Camp in Chandler, Okla., where my pitching coach/mentor was none other than Sunny Golloway. We spent a lot of time together. He was a very demanding coach who probably approached the verbal/mental cruelty line with me and other campers from time to time.

I didn't like him initially. I grew to like him and now look back upon my time with Golloway somewhat fondly in that he taught me to eschew convention and do what I think is the right thing; to actually think about what works for me specifically rather than accepting someone else's view of what works for me. In short, the man who taught me so much about pitching in 1987 and 1988 was very similar to the man who coached at Auburn in 2014 and 2015.

This report, if you will, is going to include some of my views about the legitimacy of certain statements made in Golloway's lawsuit. As someone who's been covering Auburn for 18 years now and who knows Golloway at least somewhat well, or did at one time, I feel like I'm in position to make these kinds of judgment calls.