HOOPS DEEPER THOUGHTS: Auburn 90, USC Upstate 83

Jay G. Tate

IT'S A TRAP!
Staff
Jan 17, 2003
Montgomery, Ala.
4wbS4US.jpg

Auburn 90, USC Upstate 83
  • Auburn lacked major-league effort at times Tuesday night, which Pearl attributed to the holiday break and less-than-excellent conditioning. I just think it was more about the opponent being USC Upstate, you know? It's kinda hard to get up for that when you've got UAB and Oklahoma and UConn coming up. Is that OK? Not really, but that's the kind of thing that happens to young teams.
  • One stat that will be lost in the shuffle is Danjel Purifoy's nine assists. Keep in mind that he's a power forward by trade. Auburn attacked USC Upstate's zone by stationing Purifoy near the free-throw line and having him look for passes to the block or to the deep corners. He was deft and effective in that role. The freshman wasn't great in other parts of his game (2-of-8 from the floor, only two free throws attempted) but he was an excellent enabler/creator Tuesday night.